RSS

Daily Archives: January 1, 2013

Birthday Cakes, Blue and Sally-boots for a New baby

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MY READERS

1  Thank you so much to my dear friends who yesterday gave me such a lovely Birthday Party – to
J&M for inviting us all and for a fabulous dinner, to N for making the most delicious Chocolate Torte and to M for making a scrumptious Victoria sponge; that’s two birthday cakes! Thanks to G, too, for his clever sleuthing a week or two ago in finding out what my favourite birthday cake might be without raising any suspicions!

Victoria sponge made by Margaret

Victoria sponge made by Margaret

Chocolate Torte

Chocolate Torte

Thank you to you all, D&T, P&J&J and J, as well as all the aforementioned beautiful people for making the evening such a special one for me.  I’m just sorry that the lovely Mr S wasn’t well enough to be with us and that I had to leave early, being somewhat still under the weather myself. You are all very lovely friends!

2   Neither of us was up to a walk yet though the day has been so beautifully bright so Mr S drove us out to St Agnes Beacon where we had a three minute walk in the extremely strong wind and then were amused for some time by the antics of some model aeroplanes. If you look closely at the sea and sky photo you should spot three of them wheeling about.  To see a full size picture, scroll down to the smaller version and click on that one.   Both the sea and the sky were of the most intense and beautiful blue hues.

 From the cliffs below St Agnes Beacon

From the cliffs below St Agnes Beacon

Sea off St Agnes Beacon

Sea off St Agnes Beacon

3   This afternoon I have made some Sally-boots for the Roberts’ Grandbaby who was born yesterday. Welcome to the world, little one. We share a very special day for a birthday.

Sally-boots for A&T's new baby boy

Sally-boots for A&T’s new baby boy

I have to add another beautiful thing. I have just this moment opened an e-card from my dear Sister who lives in Hawaii. It is very beautiful and her words have moved me to tears – of happiness. She reads this blog every day and says it makes me feel not quite so far away. Thank you my lovely and much loved Sister.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,