RSS

Akebia Quinata, Raindrop and Malus Blossom

29 Apr

Between our garden and next door is a fabulous plant called Akebia quinata (Chocolate Vine or Five-leaf Akebia) a shrub that is native to Japan, China and Korea. It scrambles over the fence and at this time of year produces lots of tiny purple flowers that are supposed to smell of chocolate but that has eluded me so far.

2   Lupin leaves collect the rain and the raindrop catches all the angles of the leaves.

Lupin Leaf with raindrop

Lupin Leaf with raindrop

3   Our Crab Apple, Malus Evereste, has lots of blossom.

Malus Evereste  blossom

Malus Evereste blossom

 
 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Akebia Quinata, Raindrop and Malus Blossom

  1. babyjill7...Marilyn Griffin

    May 1, 2015 at 1:49 am

    lovely…so wish you could smell the chocolate!

     
  2. Grannymar

    April 30, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    I have nearly that much colour in my garden……. The washing on my line! 😉 I had a Pieris Forest Flame in full glory three days ago, two nights of severe frost turned it into a droop brown mess!

     
    • mybeautfulthings

      April 30, 2015 at 3:45 pm

      What a shame! They are so glorious in the Spring. Any hope of a recovery?

       
      • Grannymar

        April 30, 2015 at 3:59 pm

        If I cut it back a little I maght be able to save it.

         
  3. saymber

    April 30, 2015 at 11:52 am

    AAAAAH says my eyes….flowers, beautiful flowers. Thank you from my eyes and from me.

     
    • mybeautfulthings

      April 30, 2015 at 12:02 pm

      How lovely of you to say so! Your comments are always much appreciated! 🙂

       
      • saymber

        April 30, 2015 at 12:21 pm

        and so are you! (appreciated!) 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 

Discover more from mybeautfulthings

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading